Schools in South Australia

Draft content

There are 785 schools in South Australia, with 440 schools located in Adelaide. The majority are government schools, followed by Catholic and Independent schools.

Over 13,000 Aboriginal students are enrolled in SA schools (95% in government schools) representing nearly 5% of all students. Most Aboriginal students form a minority group within their school, except in Aboriginal schools, mostly located in rural and remote areas.

Rates for Aboriginal student completion of Year 12 (a Closing the Gap target) and the SA Certificate of Education (SACE) have improved in recent years.

In addition to supporting Aboriginal students, schools are required to teach Aboriginal histories, cultures and languages through the Australian Curriculum in the various learning areas up to Year 10.

Related links